Why I Continue My Study

I believe that our motivation to continue (or not to continue) our study to university level must be various and has its own uniqueness. So did mine. 

Few years ago, I wrote about this in a posting entitled “Halo, Motivasi!“. I re-read it, and suddenly appeared one mysterious motivation inside me to continue study to S3 level ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜ญ Noo waay, I’m not sure I’m ready hahaha. 

Anyway, what were actually my real intentions to continue my study to postgraduate level? Isn’t it enough, even more than enough to have S.Pd behind my name? 

Well, it turns out that it’s not about having the degree. It’s about my huge eagerness to learn. For me, learning something has no ending. Including learning English, or for my case is English language education. I always want to learn. I declare myself as a lifetime learner. We all are lifetime learners, aren’t we? 

Never ever crossed to my mind before I finally deciding to continue my study that I would move to Pontianak and become a lecturer at Untan. Moreover, I am not a civil servant. I did not work for any institution. I had no affiliation to any academic institutions at all at the time I decided to continue my study. And for your information, I continued my study with no scholarship from anyone but from my husband. My husband was the one who paid everything, starting from the study fee, the costs for books, all in. And I’m really glad of it because it means, I don’t “owe” myself to anyone but my husband ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

So then, why did I really want to continue my study to postgraduate level? At that time, in 2003, I really missed the “aha + brilliant moment”, when an idea for doing assignments from lecturers came to mind. I also did miss “relieved and relaxed moment”, when the assignments were finally done and submitted to the lecturers no matter what my score would be ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜‚. I missed the learning atmosphere. I missed hanging out with my classmates when having the class break. Somehow, those stuffs I mentioned above actually can still be realized in the workplace, although of course the sense is different.

Now that I am already in the workplace, I really feel the advantage of having those formal education. Not about money or position, but about mindset and knowledge. I know that we can always upgrade ourselves through any kind of life stages we experience, but I believe, formal education always offers us something that we might not find outside the classroom door ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Leave a Reply

